Christmas, Don’t Be Late!

9 Dec

The Workplace has satellite radio, which regrettably is currently set to a Christmas station. Don’t get me wrong, I love Christmas music. But I obviously like my own selection of Christmas music, most of which is NEVER PLAYED on this station.

Also regrettable are the most played songs: Grandma Got Run Over By a Reindeer, Where are You Christmas? by Faith Hill, Blue Christmas by Elvis (which I maintain is AWFUL, despite nearly everyone’s opinions to the contrary). And then the absolute worst: Jingle Bells to the tune of dog barks. I kid you not.

Most of this station is torture, but there is the occasional bright spot. Hanson (Yes. DEAL.), Bing Crosby, anything from the Peanuts soundtrack (including the mostly out of tune children in Christmastime Is Here), and of course the seminal classic Christmas Don’t be Late by the Chipmunks.

 

Ok, mea culpa time. I realize at the beginning of this post I was bemoaning cheese and now I’m glorifying in the small furry creature variety. I am sorry.

I like cheesy Christmas music, but it has to be the right kind of cheese (though we can all agree the dog barking can die a horrible death, right?). The Chipmunks have the nostalgia factor, as well as a catchy and unique song. There’s nothing interesting about the dogs barking jingle bells, and really no point to Grandma getting run over by reindeer. (To say nothing of the fact that that shit would never happen on Rudolph’s watch. He is nothing if not Pro-Grandma.)

Christmas Don’t Be Late is an old song, written in 1958, that we’ve all heard a million times. But that’s part of the reason we love it. It still seems so impromtu despite the fact we all know the ALVIIIIIIIIN freak-out is coming. And the song doesn’t make sense, of course, because there’s no way Christmas can actually BE late. It’s really more about the fact that anticipation and excitement are as big a part of holidays as the big event itself which, incidentally, is the theme of most Christmas songs.

All of this is to say, Happy beginning of the holiday season! I’m excited for snow and hot chocolate and getting sick of Christmas songs and falling in love with new ones. What’s your favorite (or least favorite, as the case may be) Christmas song?

As an aside: when I was looking at the video above on YouTube, the most liked comment was, “WHY IS DAVE ALWAYS SO PISSED.”

Indeed, random commenter. Indeed.

—-

I wrote this last week before this fantastic thing happened:

 

Two Heroes right there.

2 Responses to “Christmas, Don’t Be Late!”

  1. Raymond December 9, 2011 at 4:19 am #

    Speaking of fun cheesiness: Barenaked Ladies Elf’s Lament is adorable. It also happens that BNL sings smack in the middle of my tiny vocal range so I belt it out when ever I’m alone in a soundproof location or alone in the apartment.

    It’s odd, I used to hate and not understand the song “Lo, How a Rose…” Once I heard Sufjan Stevens do it my mind was changed. Now I can’t get enough. He’s also got “Put the Lights on the Tree”, which is so fun.

    • Kristin December 10, 2011 at 12:59 am #

      I LOVE Barenaked Ladies album. SO great. And Elf’s Lament just came on!

Leave a Reply

